SettleSignal
Settlements Data breachConsumer refundsPrivacy & biometricsEmployment How we verify Guides Help center For business Log in See what you may be owed →
Ed Napleton Automotive Group Settlement defendant
Evidence-verified Paid Proof not specified

Every dollar amount and date on this page is quoted from the official settlement document.

Ed Napleton Automotive Group Refunds

$9.8M

Ed Napleton Automotive Group was caught adding unauthorized charges to car deals and hitting Black buyers with discriminatory financing rates. The FTC stepped in and sent refund checks directly — no claim form needed.

Consumers who purchased vehicles from Ed Napleton Automotive Group dealerships and were charged unauthorized junk fees for add-on products (paint protection, gap insurance, extended warranties, payment insurance), and/or Black consumers charged discriminatory financing rates or add-on fees. Payout: More than $9.8 million distributed across 66,355 checks averaging $147 each (first round, Nov 2022); additional $857,000 across 37,034 checks (second round, Nov 2023). Checked against the official settlement source by SettleSignal on June 17, 2026.

Who may qualify

You self-certify the basics when you file — the settlement administrator makes the final eligibility decision.

You may qualify if you bought a vehicle from an Ed Napleton dealership and were charged for add-ons you didn't agree to — things like paint protection, gap insurance, extended warranties, or payment insurance — or if you're a Black consumer who was charged higher financing rates or extra fees compared to other buyers.

Official eligibility wording (read the exact text)
Consumers who purchased vehicles from Ed Napleton Automotive Group dealerships and were charged unauthorized junk fees for add-on products (paint protection, gap insurance, extended warranties, payment insurance), and/or Black consumers charged discriminatory financing rates or add-on fees.

This summary is based on available official settlement sources. The settlement administrator determines eligibility and payment approval.

New to the terms? Plain-English: claim deadline, proof of purchase, administrator, pro rata.

Proof requirements

Proof requirement is currently marked as Unknown.

Review the official claim form before submitting any information.

What you need. No claim to file. This was an automatic refund program — eligible consumers received checks by mail without needing to do anything.

How hard is this claim to file?

✅ You do not need to file — payment is automatic.

The FTC mailed refund checks directly to affected Napleton customers — there is no claim form to submit. Two rounds of checks have already gone out; if you think you qualified but never got one, call the refund administrator to ask about your status.

Watch out for

  • Checks must be cashed within 90 days — the documents explicitly state this; sitting on a check means losing the money.
  • Scammers may impersonate the FTC or Epiq and ask for fees or account information. The real FTC and Epiq never ask for money or account details to send a refund.
  • The only legitimate refund administrator is Epiq at 1-888-691-6050 — do not use contact information found in unsolicited texts or emails.
  • Two rounds of payments have already been distributed. It is not confirmed that additional rounds are planned.

We prepare — you file on the official site yourself. This is not legal advice and is not an eligibility decision; the administrator and court decide.

How do I file a claim for this settlement?

No claim form is needed — Epiq issues this refund automatically; confirm your eligibility and contact details on the official source.

  1. 1
    Check the official source to confirm you are within the eligible group — the settlement administrator determines eligibility.
  2. 2
    Make sure Epiq has your current mailing address or payment details if the official source provides a way to update them.
  3. 3
    No claim form is required for an automatic refund; you do not need to pay anyone or submit documents to receive it.
  4. 4
    Watch the payment status on this record and on the official source — payments begin only after the court or program process concludes.

New to settlement claims? How to file safely →  ·  Worried it might be fake? Run the 60-second legitimacy check →

When will I get paid?

  1. Claims open
  2. Court approval
  3. Payments sent
  4. Distribution complete You are here

Distribution is complete; payments have been issued.

Verify it yourself

How we verified this record

Optional, but it's the whole point — every field below traces to a named official source we re-check on a schedule.

Verification in progress 4 / 8 fields checked
  • Payout details the official settlement website · Jun 17, 2026
  • Eligibility the official settlement website · Jun 17, 2026
  • Administrator the official settlement website · Jun 17, 2026
  • Payment status the official settlement website · Jun 17, 2026
  • Claim deadline queued for re-check
  • Proof requirement queued for re-check
  • Official claim link queued for re-check
  • Court case queued for re-check

This record has accepted official evidence; remaining fields are checked one by one on our scheduled re-verification pass.

1 official source linked to this record.

Checked fields are matched against a named official source and re-checked on a schedule. We show the authority and the date, never our internal evidence link.

  • Eligibility summary

    Consumers who purchased vehicles from Ed Napleton Automotive Group dealerships and were charged unauthorized junk fees for add-on products (paint protection, gap insurance, extended warranties, payment insurance), and/or Black consumers charged discriminatory financing rates or add-on fees.

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

  • Payment status

    Distribution complete

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

  • Estimated payout

    More than $9.8 million distributed across 66,355 checks averaging $147 each (first round, Nov 2022); additional $857,000 across 37,034 checks (second round, Nov 2023)

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

  • Administrator

    Epiq

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

  • Court

    U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

Show all 3 more verified fields
  • Automatic refund

    Yes — automatic, no claim needed

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

  • No-claim explanation

    The FTC identified harmed consumers from Napleton's records and mailed checks automatically; no claim form required.

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

  • Case name

    FTC and the State of Illinois v. North American Automotive Services, Inc., et al. (d/b/a Ed Napleton Automotive Group)

    Verified Jun 17, 2026 · against the official settlement website

Common questions

Is the Ed Napleton Automotive Group settlement legitimate?

Yes — the Ed Napleton Automotive Group settlement is a real claims process that SettleSignal tracks from its official source. It is administered by Epiq. File only through the official settlement website (www.ftc.gov); a genuine settlement administrator never charges a fee to file. SettleSignal last checked this record against the official source on June 17, 2026. Always confirm the current details on the official site before filing.

Who may qualify for this settlement?

Consumers who purchased vehicles from Ed Napleton Automotive Group dealerships and were charged unauthorized junk fees for add-on products (paint protection, gap insurance, extended warranties, payment insurance), and/or Black consumers charged discriminatory financing rates or add-on fees.

How much can I get from the Ed Napleton Automotive Group settlement?

More than $9.8 million distributed across 66,355 checks averaging $147 each (first round, Nov 2022); additional $857,000 across 37,034 checks (second round, Nov 2023). The exact amount you may receive is decided by the settlement administrator based on your valid claim and is not guaranteed; a total settlement-fund figure is shared among all eligible claimants, not paid to each person.

What is the claim deadline?

No claim deadline applies to this record: the payment is issued automatically, without a claim form.

Do I need proof to claim?

The official settlement source does not specify what documentation a claim needs. Check the official claim form before filing.

What is the current payment status?

Current payment status: Distribution complete. Payments are issued by the administrator after the court process concludes.

When will Ed Napleton Automotive Group Refunds pay out?

Current payment status: Distribution complete. Class-action payouts typically begin only after final approval and any appeals. See our payout timeline guide.

Where is the official Ed Napleton Automotive Group Refunds claim form?

No claim form is needed — The FTC identified harmed consumers from Napleton's records and mailed checks automatically; no claim form required. Never pay a fee to claim a settlement payment.

Do I need to file a claim to get money?

No. This was an automatic refund — checks were mailed directly to eligible buyers. There's no claim form to submit.

What fees does this cover?

Unauthorized charges for add-on products like paint protection, gap insurance, extended warranties, and payment insurance that customers didn't knowingly agree to.

Were there two rounds of checks?

Yes. A first round in November 2022 sent more than $9.8 million across 66,355 checks. A second round in November 2023 distributed an additional $857,000 across 37,034 checks.

I'm a Black car buyer — does this apply to me?

Potentially yes. The FTC found that Napleton dealers charged Black consumers higher financing rates and more add-on fees than other customers, so that group was specifically included in the refund program.

Where to act

There is no open public claim form for this record right now. SettleSignal does not file claims or determine eligibility.

No claim needed — payment is automatic

If you qualify, the settlement pays you automatically. There's nothing to file — just keep an eye on your mail or account around the payment date.

Automatic refund — no claim form needed Track it free

The FTC identified harmed consumers from Napleton's records and mailed checks automatically; no claim form required.

Not ready to file today? Track it free — we'll remind you before the deadline, and keep your claim details in one place.

Listed on the official settlement website (Epiq).

Status history

Every status and verification change we have recorded for this settlement, newest first. We log the date we made each change; we never publish the underlying evidence link.

  1. Settlement published after verification.
  2. Verified field details updated from an official source.
SettleSignal summary card for Ed Napleton Automotive Group Refunds — $9.8M. Accepted official evidence on file.
Share this settlement — free to repost with a link back.

Disclaimer

SettleSignal summarizes publicly available settlement information and links to official settlement sources. We are not a law firm, do not provide legal advice, do not submit claims on your behalf, and do not determine eligibility or payout approval. Claims are filed by class members themselves, on the official form. Only file a claim if the information you provide is accurate.